The Many Rants of Growlbert

It’s what’s on my mind.

Double Chin Dilemma

Lindsay Lohans secret fatty chin  If I’m not overweight then why do I have a double chin?

I eat relatively healthy and overall I’m in decent shape. I work out at least 5 times a week at a moderate intensity for an hour at a time. My BMI is low, I weigh 115 (on a ‘good’ day – 120 on a ‘bad’ day) and people often comment on how I’m lucky to be ‘so skinny’. But the truth of the matter is that I’m NOT skinny. Granted I am small-ISH, but I am no model fit to be seen in a bikini. I’m tired of people thinking that because I happen to be smaller than them that I can automatically be grouped into the “skinny” category. The reality is that there are fat skinny people, which is just as bad – if not worse – than being straight out fat. A fat skinny person, like me, appears small due to their frame but this person still has much more fat on their body than is needed. What people don’t seem to realize is that it’s just as difficult for the fat skinny person to be happy with their body as it is for the morbidly obese person to be. We fat skinny people get laughed at if we complain about our bodies because with our clothes on the untrained eye doesn’t see anything to complain about, but believe me if you saw us naked you would understand. I’m tired of not being taken seriously. It may be easier for us to hide our problems, but those problems are still there and they are just as real as anyone else’s.

While it’s true that at a first glance you would surely call me skinny, I can guarantee that if I were to lift up my shirt you would change your mind. Because what you would see there would be the reality of my life: unsightly love handles that spill out of the sides of my jeans and make me want to run and hide. It’s amazing what clothes can do to cover up the sad truth. While I despise my stubborn love handles more than I do Lindsay Lohan, what’s most upsetting of all is the double chin. It’s not an enormous double chin and I doubt that anyone would even consider me to have one, but when the conditions are right (or wrong) I can see it peeking out from under my face. It has to be in the right light and at the right angle, but it’s there. Spotting this on myself has made me obsessed with looking at other peoples chins to see if they too have this problem. Thankfully I have noticed quite a few ‘small’ people suffering from the same phenomenon, including several movie stars. There are certain times when 2 of my favorite actresses – Kirsten Dunst and Katee Sackhoff (Starbuck from Battlestar Galactica) – appear to have a hint of the cursed double chin. It may be terrible, but this makes me feel a little bit better. Now please keep in mind that I’m not talking about full-blown nasty, make you want to vomit double chins. I’m simply talking about small hints of a little bit of loose extra skin.

Now how can it be that these double chins appear in even those who are not overweight by standards? The odd thing is that I notice many seriously obese people who do not have a double chin. Is this just a cruel trick played by genetics? Is there are any hope for us double chins to obtain a face free of extra skin – without subjecting ourselves to the disgusting world of plastic surgery? Do chin exercises really work? I mean seriously – do you personally know anyone who can verify that chin exercises have made a difference for them? I see a lot of baloney on the web claiming that if you do such and such 10 times a day that you’re chin will shrink in size. But for some reason I’m not buying it.

Until I figure out a better solution I’ll continue walking around with not only my gut sucked in, but also with my chin tucked in.

March 21, 2008 - Posted by | Fitness, Health | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I have the same problem. I’m not over weight at ALL I’m 5’7 and 125 lbs and people label me as skinny but I have the same chin problem. I notice it so much and I hate it. I have been thinking about plastic surgery to remove it. My mom says its my posture but I try to keep my shoulders back and I still notice it. Have you found anything that helped shrink it?!

    Comment by Lynn | July 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. you could have interstitial cistitis ,where some parts of the body become swollen ,like your face,wrist,leg ,i am also slim and have a double chin ,and i asked the doctor about it,and he asked me if i ever suffered from cistitis and i had all my life,and now that i am older it’s gotten worst ,i have to get uo twice at night to pee and it’s a constant burning down there ,but it’s not really painfull that i have to take pills for ,it’s just a bother ,wich is why so many woman just let it go………but never associated both with my double chin …….look into it ……….good luck……leslie.

    Comment by leslie curtis | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow! Finally someone else who suffers from the exact same thing as me. I am skinny – everyone says how skinny I am. But I’m NOT! I weigh about the same as you and I’m around 5’2″. I have this stinking double chin that shows up in all my pictures – at least 95% of them. In video I look more decent because my double chin isn’t frozen in time. I wish I could get rid of this dang thing! I compare myself to everyone too. So far, I haven’t found anyone like me but as bad as it might sound I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one. I long for a nice sloping tucked in chin!! Do I need a chin implant? Do I need liposuction? Ug. http://nicholaslapolla.smugmug.com/photos/113546211_3qeVp-L-1.jpg

    Comment by Techmom | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. here, here. glad to see i’m not the only one thinking these things!

    Comment by fossyboots | November 4, 2008 | Reply

  5. This was great. I really enjoyed reading this. I am a fat skinny chick and nothing pisses me off more than my double chin. No matter how “thin” I get – the f*cker won’t go away. Yet, I stand next to my 300 pound friend who has NO chin – face all gaunt and skinny. Effing genetics bite. Thanks for a laugh. You’re a great rant writer!

    Comment by sarah | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. I think it’s a bone structure thing. And no, it’s not necessarily genitic. Over time facial posture manifests itself in our bone structure. A smaller jaw bone is what caused this double chin thing you’re talking about. But what caused your jaw bone to grow differently is probably open mouth breathing, which is usually caused by allergies, which has its root cause in diet. Yes, that’s right. There is no simple solution. If you could go back to your childhood and train yourself to breath differenlty, get on allergy medicine maybe then this whole problem could be solved. Or you could go back even further to when you were a fetus and get all the best nutrition.

    Comment by PJ | March 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

